COUNTY COUNCIL 24TH OCTOBER 2024

Minutes of the meeting of the Flintshire County Council held as a hybrid meeting on Thursday, 24th October 2024.

PRESENT: Councillor Dennis Hutchinson (Chair)

Councillors: Mike Allport, Bernie Attridge, Glyn Banks, Pam Banks, Marion Bateman, Sean Bibby, Chris Bithell, Gillian Brockley, Helen Brown, Mel Buckley, Teresa Carberry, Tina Claydon, David Coggins Cogan, Bill Crease, Ron Davies, Adele Davies-Cooke, Chris Dolphin, Rosetta Dolphin, Mared Eastwood, Carol Ellis, David Evans, Chrissy Gee, David Healey, Gladys Healey, Ian Hodge, Andy Hughes, Dave Hughes, Ray Hughes, Dennis Hutchinson, Alasdair Ibbotson, Paul Johnson, Christine Jones, Richard Jones, Simon Jones, Fran Lister, Richard Lloyd, Dave Mackie, Gina Maddison, Roz Mansell, Allan Marshall, Hilary McGuill, Ryan McKeown, Billy Mullin, Debbie Owen, Ted Palmer, Andrew Parkhurst, Mike Peers, Michelle Perfect, Vicky Perfect, Carolyn Preece, David Richardson, Ian Roberts, Dan Rose, Kevin Rush, Dale Selvester, Jason Shallcross, Sam Swash, Linda Thew, Linda Thomas, Ant Turton, Roy Wakelam and Arnold Woolley.

- **APOLOGIES:** Councillors: Pam Banks, Geoff Collette, Steve Copple, Paul Cunningham, Rob Davies, Rah Hughes, Ryan McKeown, Ian Roberts and Antony Wren.
- **CONTRIBUTORS:** Chief Executive, Chief Officer (Governance), Chief Officer (Planning, Environment and Economy), Chief Officer (Streetscene and Transportation), Chief Officer (Education and Youth), Corporate Finance Manager, Corporate Manager People and Organisational Development, Corporate Manager Capital Programme and Assets, Strategic Executive Officer and Strategic Finance Manager.

Weightmans legal advisors.

IN ATTENDANCE: Democratic Services Manager, Team Leaders – Democratic Services, Overview and Scrutiny Facilitators and Democratic Services Officers.

45. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST 10.06 (link to recording)

Councillors Coggins Cogan and Parkhurst declared personal interests in agenda item number 3.

A number of Members also declared personal interests in agenda item number 3 due to their family members using the services provided by Aura but were advised by the Chief Officer (Governance) that they were not required to.

As a point of clarification, the Chief Officer (Governance) advised that Members who had been lobbied in relation to Aura were not required to declare an interest.

A short adjournment was required to resolve technical issues.

46. <u>REQUISITION NOTICE AND COUNCIL REPORT AURA OCTOBER 2024</u> (link to recording)

Councillor Swash introduced the <u>Requisition Notice (agenda item number 3)</u> on 'Save Aura's Services', which was seconded by Councillor Preece.

A recorded vote was requested which was supported by the requisite number of Members.

For the Notice of Motion:

Councillors: Attridge, Bateman, Brockley, Coggins Cogan, Ellis, Gee, Andy Hughes, Ibbotson, Mansell, Parkhurst, Preece, Richardson, Rose, Selvester, Swash and Thew.

Against the Notice of Motion:

Allport, Glyn Banks, Bibby, Bithell, Brown, Buckley, Carberry, Claydon, Crease, Ron Davies, Chris Dolphin, Rosetta Dolphin, Eastwood, David Healey, Gladys Healey, Hodge, Dave Hughes, Hutchinson, Johnson, Christine Jones, Richard Jones, Simon Jones, Lister, Lloyd, Maddison, Marshall, McGuill, Mullin, Palmer, Peers, Michelle Perfect, Vicky Perfect, Rush, Shallcross, Thomas, Wakelam and Woolley.

Abstain:

Councillor Debbie Owen.

RESOLVED:

That the Notice of Motion is not supported.

47. NOTICE OF MOTION

(link to recording)

Councillor Ibbotson introduced the <u>Notice of Motion (agenda item number 4)</u> on three-weekly bin collections, which was seconded by Councillor Brockley.

A recorded vote was requested which was supported by the requisite number of Members.

For the Notice of Motion:

Councillors: Allport, Attridge, Bateman, Brockley, Coggins Cogan, Ellis, Gee, Hutchinson, Ibbotson, Mansell, Marshall, Owen, Parkhurst, Peers, Preece, Richardson, Rose, Swash, Thew and Wakelam.

Against the Notice of Motion:

Glyn Banks, Bibby, Bithell, Brown, Buckley, Carberry, Claydon, Crease, Ron Davies, Chris Dolphin, Rosetta Dolphin, Eastwood, David Healey, Gladys Healey, Dave Hughes, Johnson, Christine Jones, Richard Jones, Simon Jones, Lister, Lloyd, Maddison, McGuill, Mullin, Palmer, Vicky Perfect, Rush, Shallcross, Thomas and Woolley.

RESOLVED:

That the Notice of Motion is not supported.

48. <u>QUESTIONS</u> (link to recording)

Seventeen <u>questions (agenda item number 5)</u> were submitted by the deadline and read out by the Members who had submitted them. The Chair gave approval for questions 13, 14 and 16 to be brought forward. Questions 1 to 8, 13, 14 and 16, were asked and answered by the relevant Cabinet Member and subsequent questions to some were asked, to which either a verbal response was given or would be provided by way of a written response. Questions 9, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 17 were deferred to the next scheduled meeting of County Council.

49. MEMBERS OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE

There were 67 members of the public and press in attendance.

(The meeting commenced at 10.00 a.m. and ended at 5.00 p.m.)

.....

Chair